27
May
09

Respect for Property

I’ve been sitting here for approximately five minutes debating on what to talk about today. For some reason nothing had come to me. Despite all the hassles and sometimes good will that I could talk about nothing was really coming to mind. That led me to questioning why I was having trouble. The reason actually came to me pretty quickly.

A couple days ago I had lost the little notebook that I carry with me everywhere I go. I didn’t realize it at the time but apparently I had left it at work. It was one of the few times that I worked in the back booth, the back drive thru window, and it seems that I had left it on the counter there. Before I found out that my sister had picked it up and brought it back to her home many thoughts went through my mind.

I’ve never mentioned it before but I intend to become a full time writer some-year and I originally kept that notebook on me at all times to jot down any old idea that I got no matter how stupid. But in addition to that I started jotting down other important information in it. Ever since I got the idea of the Breaktime Blog I’ve been also jotting down ideas for blog entries. So this little notebook is extremely valuable to me. Oddly enough, it’s not the value that made me so worried. It wasn’t the threat of someone stealing my ideas. What had me so worried was that one of my coworkers might read that I had jotted down notes about them.

We have some terribly vicious people at my job. I’ve seen one person in particular cough directly in someone’s coffee cup. I’ve heard stories of other things that people have done. I’ve seen one person reading and writing in a journal of sorts that someone else had accidently left behind. If some leaves food around it’s been taken and usually eaten. In addition to the mean acts there are also many pranks that happen also. Like salt or sugar in drinks. We also have one person in particular that is extremely vindictive when it comes to getting back at people for the things that they’ve done or have rumored to have done.

Anyway, to make a long story short, my beloved notebook is currently safe in the hands of my sister who has the sense to not read other people’s stuff. So I was immensely relieved to find that out and I have taken measures to put a different notebook in my pocketbook for tomorrow.

0 Responses to “Respect for Property”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

