12
Jun
09

People – Inside and Out

You really can’t tell about people from the outside, can you?

We have this one customer that comes through nearly every day and orders a large coffee. Here that costs $1.51 with tax and nearly every time she pays with a $20 bill and 51¢. She always gives of the… aura, I suppose, of being a prostitute. I think it’s in the overly styled hair that is usually somewhat messed up by the time she comes through in the morning. Or perhaps the heavy makeup she wears. Or even those odd clothes that look just a bit out of place. I can’t be sure.

Anyway, every time she comes through my drive thru she usually gets a large coffee and pays with a dollar and fifty-one cents. There are a few exceptions when she buys real food, but most of the time it’s like that. It goes on all year and it can be annoying sometimes. What you need to know to understand is that she comes through first thing in the morning, usually, a couple hours after I get there… around 8:00 or so. We start out the day with $100 in our drawer. In drive through that doesn’t include the $90ish dollars that is in our automatic changer. We have very limited funds in our drawer. The biggest bills that we start with are $5 bills. And by the time she has come through that has usually run out or is running out.

I know that she doesn’t do it on purpose. In fact, she probably doesn’t even realize what is going on. It just gets a little wearing after awhile. It gets to the point when I see her coming that I already know that I’m going to have to dig out $19 in change for her. It’s not really horrible, but it’s annoying nonetheless.

In all honesty it’s not just her change that instigated my original opinion of her. It’s that she was always standoffish. She rarely spoke. She still doesn’t for that matter. Or at least she hardly ever does. She has warmed up a little towards me though.

During the Christmas season last year… the year before actually, as an afterthought she handed me four dollars of her change as a Christmas present. It wasn’t much, but it made a big impression on me. She’s one of the last ones that I would have thought of doing something like that.

0 Responses to “People – Inside and Out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

